Review: The Hobbit – Desolation of Smaug

20131219-195943.jpg

Last Friday saw the release of the new Hobbit movie; Desolation of Smaug. I am a massive J.R.R. Tolkien fan, and have been waiting for the Hobbit Movies since.. Well, since The Lord of the Rings trilogy. I even went to New Zealand last November so I could be a part of the massive crowd who eagerly gathered for the Premiere in Wellington.

The first instalment of the Hobbit; An Unexpected Journey, honestly left me a little disappointed. The first half of the movie seemed like it wasn’t actually going anywhere, and it wasn’t until about half an hour in that the ‘unexpected journey’ actually began. You were introduced to over 13 main characters (the dwarves) but only about 4 of them were memorable. You were also introduced to a load of characters that weren’t even in the book, and were very unnecessary to the story line, yet I remember them more vividly.

My hopes were higher for the Desolation of Smaug, I mean, who doesn’t love a dragon, especially one voiced by Benedict Cumberbatch. And it really was an improvement, but it was still far too long to keep me completely enthralled. The movie started off at a really good pace; meeting Boern, trekking through the Forest, escaping the Spiders, meeting the Elves. At times I even thought it was all going a little too quickly. Then they all get captured by the Wood Elves, and a silly romantic sub plot is introduced, between Kili (not surprisingly the most attractive dwarf) and Tauriel (a she-elf they pointlessly added into the movie so the female viewers wouldn’t feel left out). Really!?

They finally escape Mirkwood, and it’s the barrel chapter, a scene I was very much looking forward to, but they managed to drag it out so much that I just wanted to get it over and done with. I mean, how many arrows can Legolas even carry? This isn’t a video game, he doesn’t have an unlimited supply! They finally make it to the Lake Town, and it gets quite interesting again, then in no time, they’re trying to get into the Lonely Mountain, meeting the impressive Smaug, and running around trying to escape him – all slightly ruined by the massive liquid gold statue. He’s a dragon ..he’s already warm, it’s like a bath for him!

This is all dotted with scenes of Gandalf, which are not in the book at all, but interesting none the less, even if it is only because Ian McKellen is awesome.

Overall, I’d give the movie a 4 out of 5, cause I am still a LOTR fan girl after all. But it’s one of those increasing cases where I just think, ‘I could have made it so much better myself’.

One thought on “Review: The Hobbit – Desolation of Smaug

Leave a Reply

