Artist Alley: Zombie Survival Vehicles

20131221-193025.jpg

If you’re anything like me, you have already thought out a survival plan, just incase the day of the apocalypse should arise. In fact, I have about three back ups as well, I’m not taking any chances. I’ve watched enough Zombie movies to know that things don’t always go to plan when the walkers are coming after you. I think I could probably survive for about a month without having to leave my basement, but after that I guess I’d just be winging it. I’d like to think the epidemic would have died down by then, that there’d be a ’28 days later’ situation, that the zombies would starve themselves to their second death.

Donal O’Keefe, a designer from Cork, Ireland, has come up with a long term zombie apocalypse solution. He has created a range of zombie survival vehicles. He put the collection together after imagining what life would be like if the streets were taken over by the undead.

‘The concept for the series sprouted from my love of detailed 3D cross section renders. I really wanted the viewer to study and create for themselves, to theorise about whom the survivor or survivors are and what kind of background they came from. I paired this interest with my love of horror films and their ability to place people outside their comfort zones.’

The designs include a Royal Mail Van, with added escape ladder, food supplies and bookshelf, a Black Cab, with spiked window covers, pick axe and water barrel, and even a Double Decker Bus, with fuel supplies, a dining area, kitchen, and bunk beds. So now, all I have to do I buy myself an ice cream van, pimp it out with shotguns, bulletproof walls, and a lifetime supply of ice cream, and I should have myself an escape vehicle.

20131221-202529.jpg

2 thoughts on “Artist Alley: Zombie Survival Vehicles

Leave a Reply

