Top 10: Best of 2013

Hope everyone has had an amazing 2013 and is looking forward to a brand new year of film, game, gadget, and book releases! It’s been a big year for us nerds. Here are some of the things I’ve been most excited about over the past year..

10. Superhero Movie Releases

20140101-183330.jpg

2013 saw the release of not one, but five superhero related movies from the comic book universe; Iron Man 3, The Wolverine, Kick Ass 2, Thor: The Dark World, and Man of Steel. The latter (being the only one out of the five that wasn’t a sequel) was probably the movie I was most excited for. The last time Superman appeared on the big screen was 2006, so Man of Steel had been greatly anticipated by all. Also, the fact that Christopher Nolan (the man who did such a banging job on the Dark Knight movies) was set to produce, made things even better. It was gritty, and dark, just like the Batman movies. I guess I didn’t agree with a lot of the destruction – very un-Superman like, but it was still a damn good attempt. Kick Ass 2 was probably my favourite sequel. I’m a big fan of the comics, and when I heard Jim Carrey was playing Colonel Stars and Stripes, I must admit I was a bit sceptical, but he really did an amazing job.

9. The Cornetto Trilogy

20140101-185658.jpg

I got to see The World’s End in July, and I was so damned happy. Shaun of the Dead is probably one of my favourite movies of all time, and Hot Fuzz was a bit of alright, so I knew I was going to love The Worlds End. I’m also a pretty massive Edgar Wright fan (partly due to my Scott Pilgrim obsession) so it was one of my more anticipated movies of 2013. I watched it in true Simon Pegg/Nick Frost style – a mini marathon of all three movies, with a supply of Cornetto’s to hand.

8. Benedict Cumberbatch

20140101-190605.jpg

This guy has been just about everywhere this year. I see his face constantly; plastered all over the internet, on the cinema screens (not that I’m complaining) but I am certain the Americans must be sick of him. And if they’re not, well, they need to return him soon, I need my Sherlock fix. He’s probably best known for his portrayal of Sherlock in the TV series for BBC, but he’s also managed to wriggle his way into a lot of franchises this year. His most notable performance is probably of Khan, from Star Trek: Into the Darkness. I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews about the movie as a whole, but no one can doubt how amazing Cumberbatch’s portrayal was. He also did he voice over for Smaug in the new Hobbit movie. It was quite delightful.

7. Console Releases

20140101-191739.jpg

The biggest news this year, in terms of gadgets, was the release of the Xbox one and the PS4. The rivalry between the two mega companies meant that both consoles were released in time for Christmas. I am yet to buy one myself, but I honestly can’t wait to get my hands on them, even if it is only to play Dead Rising 3.

6. The Red Wedding

20140101-192124.jpg

This had to be one of the most intense moments in television history, ever. I’ve been addicted to the Game of Thrones franchise since I started watching the series. Now I’m also working my way through the George R R Martin novels, and the characters just can’t seem to catch a break. The Game of Thrones series has definitely been doing the novels justice. This episode in particular ..I was speechless. I knew it was coming and yet I was still sat there sobbing into my pillow. These guys know exactly what they’re doing. Bring on series 4.

5. Batman: Death of the Family

20140101-192845.jpg

I don’t think I’ve ever read anything so haunting. The Death of the family graphic novel, by Scott Snyder, has got to be one of my new favourites. It’s dark, sadistic, full of suspense – everything you want in a Batman story. Not just that, but it brings back so many gruelling Batman memories that you thought you’d left in the back of your head, even if just for a while, for your own sanity. The artwork is inspiring, Jock has done a wonderful job as always. If you get a chance to see the hardcover, you’ll know instantly why you will not be able to put this comic down.

4. Doctor Who

20140101-193743.jpg

Not only did I get to sit through the Day of the Doctor, and reminisce about all the previous Doctor Who’s in existence, I got to watch the Christmas special and say so long to Matt Smith, and hello to Peter Capaldi. I must admit, the Christmas special was far from my favourite episode. It both dragged, and was rushed at times, there just didn’t seem to be a happy medium. The Day of the Doctor however ..wow! The Return of David Tennant, and Billie Piper. Happyness!

3. The Walking Dead

20140101-194248.jpg

This season of the Walking Dead saw the return of the Govenor, and I honestly believe that there are few on this planet as evil as he. The Walking Dead writers did this horrible thing where they present you with a seemingly reformed Govenor. He’s all lost, and lonely, and sad, and he comes across a family, whom he could easily kill but decides to help. You think, maybe he’s changed, maybe he’s going to turn over a new leaf. Then you realise that actually, a leopard can’t change his spots, and he’s still as sadistic as ever, maybe even more so now that he has a taste for revenge. I was impressed with this storyline. The Season started off quite slow, but they redeemed themselves successfully.

2. Pokemon X and Y

20140101-194934.jpg

Playing Pokemon until ridiculous hours in the morning has got to be one of my favourite past times of 2013. My limited edition Pokemon 3DS has pride of place on my bedside table next to my bed. I played the game through within the first few days of having it, and have now managed to clock almost 150 hours of gameplay. I’ve battled, and traded. I’ve even been shiney hunting a few times. My new aim is to catch ’em all. Gotta catch ’em all, Pokemon!

1. Batman vs. Superman

20140101-195420.jpg

The announcement of a Batman vs Superman movie has definitely got to be one of the best things to come out of 2013. I almost wet myself when I first heard about this. I love Batman far too much, definitely more than I should admit to, and I have a few friends who love Superman, almost to the point where I would sometimes like to revoke their title of friend, because BATMAN WILL WIN!! Now, they argue this point, but we all know Superman’s weakness, and we all know Batman carries Kryptonite around with him, just incase.

If the movie announcement wasn’t enough, they’ve also started to release some of the actors who will be donning the superhero capes. Most notably, Ben Affleck as Batman. I’ve heard more negative feedback than positive, but personally, I’m excited. I love Ben Affleck. Granted, he’s been in some pretty awful movies in his time, but he’s also been in some fantastic ones, and we’ve already seen him play a broody Superhero. Daredevil. It wasn’t the greatest movie ever, but that wasn’t all down to Affleck. Wonder Woman has also been announced. Gal Gadot is due to have a cameo as the Amazonian princess in the upcoming movie. Finally, actors Bryan Cranston, Dwayne Johnston and Denzel Washington have been rumoured to play some sort of role, but as of yet, these are only rumours.

Leave a Reply

