Trailer Time: Hooked on a feeling

20140219-140123.jpg

So the trailer for James Gunn’s Guardians of the Galaxy was released yesterday evening, and having watched it on repeat all morning, I have come to the conclusion that I have no conclusion. It is not what I was expecting at all. That’s not a bad thing though – I like surprises!

It opens up with a rather dramatic, Indiana Jones style scene of Peter Quill (Chris Pratt) attempting to steal an ‘all powerful’ orb, where we get our first glimpse of Djimon Hounsou as Korath the Pursuer (those bright blue eyes!) and the Star-Lord himself, who is just adorable. If I was uncertain of how Quill was going to be portrayed before, I’m definitely not now. He’s a cheeky chap, who is ballsy and hot headed, with insanely toned muscles, somewhat resembling Han Solo mixed with Captain Kirk.

Then comes the prison line-up of the five main characters, Drax, Gamora, Rocket Raccoon, Groot, and Quill, along with some pretty awesome looking gadgets. Gamora (Zoe Saldana) looks beyond badass with her sadistic smirk, and Groot ..well I’m already in love with him. The way he tilts his head down to fit in the shot, so adorable (don’t let looks deceive you though, he’s incredibly deadly). Finally, we get a little more of the Star-Lord humour in the form of a middle finger to his captives. I have to admit, I let out a laugh that was probably louder than it should have been.

Gunn gives us a load of action shots, including a first look at Nebula (Karen Gillan) – it’s so weird seeing her without her red hair, she’ll always be the Doctors companion to me. We even get a brief look at The Collector. If you saw Thor 2 at the cinema, and stayed until the end of the credits where Marvel add their iconic short post credits scene, you will have been introduced to The Collector already.

I was a little disappointed that I couldn’t see any shots of Ronan the Accuser (Lee Pace) who will be the main villain in the movie, though I guess they have to save a little something to peak interest as 1st August comes closer. The Nova Corps officers and Commander were also absent, so I’ll look forward to seeing them in the next trailer as well. One last thing.. Blue Swede’s Hooked on a Feeling? I really hope this song actually pop’s up in the movie at some point.

2 thoughts on “Trailer Time: Hooked on a feeling

Leave a Reply

