Ding Dong the Witch is Dead!

20140316-201553.jpg

I read a lot of books. My collection spans over two large bookcases, rammed full of various novels. Because I own so many, I have a tendency to start new ones even though I’m already reading something else – the need to get through as many as possible you see. This means that I’m always on the lookout for new bookmarks, and the more interesting the better, otherwise I just end up using scraps of paper that I always seem to loose.

Olena Mysnyk, owner of MyBookmark, has had the most amazingly creative idea for a bookmark. If you’re familiar with the Wizard of Oz, you will know that Dorothy comes across a witch who has been crushed by a house. All she can see are a pair of stockinged legs peeking out from under the building, with those beautiful Ruby slippers. Mysnyk has used this scene as inspiration, attaching a pair of 2″ legs to the bottom of a bookmark. Instead of a house, the evil witch looks likes she has been crushed by the pages of the book, and the outcome is both witty and beautiful.

Made of Polymer clay and acrylic paints, the bookmarks look vibrant and durable – a welcome addition to any book, especially if you just so happen to be reading about the witch herself. You can order one now from her Etsy store for just £15. I can’t wait to get my own.

20140316-203913.jpg

20140316-203923.jpg

20140316-203928.jpg

20140316-203934.jpg

Leave a Reply

