Fandom Fashion Find: Harry Potter will come in handy!

20140319-181915.jpg

Get it, get it!? Because rings go on your hands, and these rings based on the wizard himself!

Anywho.. I grew up with Harry Potter. I’ve read all of the books countless times, and watched the movies over and over. I even joined Pottermore so I could find out what house I would be in if I went to Hogwarts – Slytherin if you were wondering. I know the characters pretty well, and of course I have my favourites! I especially love Luna Lovegood. Her scatty, carefree nature really appeals to my own. I love people who always look on the bright side of life.

I’d like to Cosplay as her at some point, she’s high up on my list with about 4 or 5 other characters. While I was looking at creative ways to portray her, I came across a store on Etsy; thinkupjewl, which has an adorable little ring available, modelled on Luna’s Spectrespecs – these are the whacky glasses she gets with an edition of the Quibbler that allow people to see wrackspurts (a tiny creature, invisible to the human eye). You see her wearing them throughout the movies.

The ring is just lovely. A delicate sterling silver band with open ends so it’s easy to size. It’s plain, but quirky. I could totally picture Luna wearing one around the castle. I just love it. This wasn’t the only Harry Potter themed accessory on offer though. Ioannis, owner of thinkupjewl and creator of the ring, has necklaces and earrings on offer as well. One of my other favourite pieces is based on a pair of specs too, but these belong to Harry Potter. A tiny lightning bolt is attached to his iconic circular glasses.. It’s unique and amusing.

The jewellery is available in silver, gold, and black. I don’t know what the quality is like because I haven’t seen them up close, but when I order one, I’ll let you know. Rings come roughly between ยฃ15 and ยฃ20. Earrings cost a little less, and necklaces are a little more. Check out the rest of her accessories here.

20140319-190452.jpg

20140319-190500.jpg

20140319-190505.jpg

20140319-190518.jpg

20140319-190529.jpg

3 thoughts on “Fandom Fashion Find: Harry Potter will come in handy!

Leave a Reply

