Geeky DIY: Portal Earrings

20140418-212446.jpg

Ever since February, when I managed to get my hands on a copy of Portal 2 for cheap in an Xbox live sale, I’ve had a slight obsession with the game. As soon as I started playing I knew I would be spending a huge amount of pain staking hours trying to complete the damn thing – it’s so addictive. And when I eventually got to GLaDOS’s finale song, ‘Want you gone’, it still wasn’t over because they had a co-op section I needed to get through.

Having spent so much time playing as the games protagonist Chell, I decided I wanted to be her, and started to plan my next Cosplay costume around her uniform. My brain was in Portal mode. Then I managed to lose one of my earrings (well tunnels, I have 10mm holes in my ears because I stretched them at a festival) and had to order a new pack.

As soon as I got the boring black circles through in the post, I couldn’t think of anything but how awesome they would look as the orange and blue portals you create in the game. So I grabbed some of my acrylic paints and a toothpick, then started to draw. It wasn’t exactly difficult to do, it was just fiddly. Here’s the process:

Obviously the base of this little project is the earrings themselves. Tunnels are perfect because you can see through them to the other side, like the portals in the game. I got a pack of the rubbery ones because I always find that they stay in my ears better. Amazon sell them for really cheap.

20140418-215811.jpg

Next is paint. I happened to have some acrylics laying around, so I just used them. The portal colours are orange and blue.. You can’t really use a substitute. The blue I used was a bit darker than I would have liked, it’s more of a light blue in the game, but that was all I had, and I wasn’t patient enough to wait another week for some more paints to arrive.

20140418-215846.jpg

I used a toothpick to apply the paint to the ear tunnels. I attempted with a brush first, but it was too large and made a mess, the pick did a much better, and much more even job. Unless you have the steadiest hand in the world, you’re not going to be able to make a perfect circle, but I doubt that many people will be inspecting your ears up close. I had to apply around three coats of paint.

20140418-215915.jpg

Let them dry, then pop them in. I was super chuffed with them when I’d finished. Good luck if you’re going to have a go yourself, not that you’ll need it. Oh, and remember.. the cake is a lie!!

Leave a Reply

