Everyday Cosplay: Astrid Hofferson (How to Train Your Dragon)

20140602-142348.jpg

The next instalment of Dreamworks’ animated movie, How to Train Your Dragon, is going to be released in the next few months – 4th July for us Brits, and I can’t wait. In the meantime, I thought I’d take some time to look at one of the fiercest Vikings in the whole of the film; Astrid Hofferson.

Astrid is one of the main characters in the movie, along with Hiccup and the rest of the teenage Vikings. She is probably the most competitive out of the bunch, and being female, she thinks she has the most to prove. She’s tough, serious, and occasionally short tempered, but she’s also caring, compassionate, and beautiful (her name even means Divine Beauty). I guess that’s why she has one of the best outfits in the film – Practical AND feminine. Here is my version of her clothing, everyday cosplay style.

20140602-142419.jpg

Astrid’s Everyday Cosplay is made up of a T-shirt, Skirt, Leggings and Boots, along with various accessories. Being a Viking, her skirt in the movie doubles up as armour and so is covered with little spikes – not something you see every day on the street. I decided to go with a plain brown leather skirt from Chicwish. The shape and colour both match Astrid’s perfectly, but instead of being covered in spikes; it’s lined with a celtic style pattern. I have however added a brown spiked belt from Zadig & Voltaire to make up for the spikes lost from her skirt.

The black leggings are from H&M and the green striped top is from Yoox, both very similar to her own. I’m not a massive fan of the particular Uggs she’s wearing though, so I substituted them with a slightly different pair. The brown boots are still made by Ugg but they look much nicer and are a lot more practical. I’ve added a skull studded belt from online store, Only. It looks nothing like the one Astrid wears, but I wanted the reference. I did find some awesome Skull earrings though. These are from Etsy and are so damn cute that I want a pair. Finally, I added a brown headband from Dorothy Perkins, similar to the one she wears in her hair, and a Viking/ Celtic silver cuff bracelet from Urweg which can replace the cloth she wraps around her wrists.

Leave a Reply

