Fandom Fashion Find: May the force be with Shoe..

20140603-162007.jpg

Yeah I just punned!!

Vans have released a brand new Star Wars collection of shoes, and while I’m not particularly enthralled by their designs, I love the promotional video that accompanies them – A skateboarding Wookie, with added Stormtroopers, Jawas, and Chewbacca. For those who didn’t think a giant ball of fur could skate, check out the video below, it’s awesome.

Anyway, back to the shoes. The collection, known as Vans x Star Wars, was released a couple of days ago, and includes six different designs. Predominantly based around patterns that don’t really have anything to do with Star Wars, I’m not entirely sure I understand why they’re branded after the franchise at all. The Star Wars references are just a little too subtle for my liking.

Picture this; A classic Vans slip on shoe decorated with a print of red Hawaiian flowers. They look lovely. But wait, what is that splodge on one of the petals. Yoda? – Yeah, ok Vans.. It just doesn’t do anything for me. If I ask for Yoda on my shoes, I want a giant wrinkly green face staring up at me from my tootsies, not a tiny spec of jedi that no one will be able to make out unless my foot’s in their face, and believe me, nobody wants that.

The Boba Fett Camo prints are just as unnecessary; I can’t even make the bounty hunter out unless I squint with both eyes half closed. It’s not all bad though. The Stormtrooper Bandana shoes are not particularly my thing, but at least you can make out the clones; and the Classic Repeats, which collage a selection of cartoony Star Wars characters, are actually a pair I’d consider wearing, though not at that price tag.

20140603-162145.jpg

20140603-162155.jpg

20140603-162201.jpg

20140603-162206.jpg

Vans have managed to redeem themselves however, with their limited edition collection. Their Vault by Vans range is super rare, with only 300 pairs of each style produced, but they are so much nicer than all of the other designs combined, my favourite pattern being the Pirate Print which consists of Star Wars skull and cross bones – Darth Vader and Stormtrooper helmets, crossed with lightsabers. They are just glorious. Sell these in your shop Vans and I’ll buy one pair of every shoe available!

20140603-162258.jpg

20140603-162309.jpg

Leave a Reply

