Unboxing: Lootcrate (Adventure)

20140624-141008.jpg

I’m a little behind on posting about the monthly mystery boxes that I receive from Loot Crate. I’ve just had June’s through in the mail and realised that I still haven’t actually posted anything about May yet, so here’s a quick run-through – minus an unboxing video because I was far too excited about the theme at the time, so had to open it then and there.

For those of you that don’t know, Loot Crate is a company based in the US, who provide a nerdy themed mystery box service every month. The boxes are filled with a variety of different geeky products such as T-shirts, comics, stickers, and toys – they try their best to appeal to lots of different ages. This month’s theme was Adventure, with promises of Minecaft and Adventure Time related products. They did not dissapoint.

Here’s a breakdown of everything inside;

20140624-141103.jpg

Adventure Time Mystery Mini – GAHH!! This was definitely my favorite thing in this month’s box. There were 12 different 2.5 inch vinyl characters available, including all the main characters from the animated series. It was similar to the Game of Thrones Mystery Mini from Aprils Loot Crate, in that who you ended up with was a complete surprise, however in this case, you also received a mystery character tin as well – Mathematical!!

I ended up with a Lumpy Space Princess vinyl in a BMO tin, and was ecstatic about both. BMO and LSP are in my opinion, two of the best characters in the show, though every figure was absolutely adorable. My only issue came when taking LSP out to have a little play – Note: they really are just figures. I assumed LSPs arm’s might be movable.. they’re not. My fiddling resulted in a one armed princess. Woopsie daisy!

20140624-141155.jpg

Minecraft Hanger – Another mystery product, but this time in the form of a ‘hanger’ which was essentially a chunky key ring. There were 10 different Minecraft figures available. I ended up with Steve which I was happy with – his arms and legs moved which amused me for quite a while. The key ring itself was quite large though, far too big to add to my house keys.

20140624-141306.jpg

Legend of Zelda Key Ring – Unlike the Minecraft hanger, this little beauty is the perfect size to accompany my keys. Doubling up as a bottle opener, it quotes the iconic Zelda line ‘It’s dangerous to go alone! Take this’ only in place of a sword, there’s a Loot Crate. It was probably the most useful thing I’ve ever had from a mystery box.

20140624-141337.jpg

Friend Zone Sountrack – I have no idea what this is to be honest. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of Friend Zone. I might give it a listen, but it’s not on my list of priorities.

20140624-141410.jpg

Stickers – There were various stickers in the box, but I wasn’t really a fan of any of them. I don’t do stickers; I’ve got nowhere for them. Maybe I need to invest something to plaster them on. A few looked interesting, but most seemed to be logos for various peoples Youtube channels. Not really my thing.

20140624-141438.jpg

Link T-Shirt – This is a really fun T-shirt. It displays a picture of Link from The Legend of Zelda franchise, but instead of being block colored, he’s covered in typographic descriptions such as ‘Courageous’ and ‘Adventurer’ – another great item.

20140624-142530.jpg

I really loved the Adventure theme, and most of the products that came in the crate were right up my street. The stickers and cd didn’t really interest me, but they were only a small part of the box. It hasn’t been my favorite box (I really loved the Dragon Loot Crate last month) but it’s managed to convince me to keep my subscription.

The boxes are only around $13 if you’re American, which is an amazing price, but shipping them abroad costs a little more, just under £20. If you want to sign up to get next months box, check out the Loot Crate Website here. You can get an extra $3 off by using the code SAVE3.

Leave a Reply

