Comic Book Day (23.07.14)

Here’s a list of all the new comic book series that have been released today – I’ve featured a few that I’m excited about. These first issues mean that you’re not missing out on any previous story line, so check them out if you’re looking for a brand new comic story to sink your teeth into, or want to expand your comic collection.

Storm
Publisher: Marvel Entertainment
Writer: Greg Pak
Artist: Victor Ibanez

20140725-081217-29537479.jpg

Synopsis
Storm [Queen Ororo Monroe] floats above a small village in Santo Marco; where a tidal waves is about to hit. Despite stopping the tidal waves, the local army is not happy at her presence, making it clear Santo Marco is NOT a place mutants are allowed.

Verdict
I love reading about the X-Men, they’re all so fascinating. Having seen most of the animated series, all of the movies, and collected a few of the graphic novels, I guess you could say I was a fan. I do have my favourite characters though, as we all do – Storm just isn’t one of them. I guess it’s because I’ve never really read that much about her, but that needs to change – and what better way then by reading her brand new stand alone comic series. I hope we are going to see a few cameos from her fellow mutants.

Super Secret Crisis War: Johnny Bravo
Publisher: IDW
Writer: Erik Burnham & Louise Simonson
Artist: Erica Henderson & Derek Charm

20140725-094227-34947686.jpg

Synopsis
There’s trouble a brewin’ in Aron City; and no sir, it ain’t the kind that rhymes with pool! A robot from another dimension has appeared, intent on finding and challenging a hero – any hero – for its evil masters. Instead, the robot finds Johnny Bravo, and proof… that even a robot can be driven mad by exposure to Johnny’s obliviousness. Don’t miss this tie-in to the event of the summer — so cool, you’re gonna have to wear shades. Hyah! Plus, a two-page epilogue by Louise Simonson and Derek Charm, delving into the formation of the LEAGUE OF EXTRAORDINARY VILLAINS!!

Verdict
I love cartoons, they’re one of my favourite things – up there with bubble wrap and strawberry daiquiris. I think it’s because I watched them so religiously when I was younger, that they’re now just sort of imbedded into my brain. Johnny Bravo was undoubtably one of my favourite characters on Cartoon Network. He was such a doofus, and incredibly amusing. I’d kick myself if I didn’t get this comic.. I just hope they can portray his persona well on paper.

Doctor Who: The Tenth Doctor
Publisher: Titan Comics
Writer: Nick Abadzis
Artist: Elena Casagrande

20140725-100827-36507879.jpg

Synopsis
The Eisner Award-winning Nick Abadzis (Laika) and fan-favorite Elena Casagrande (Angel, Suicide Risk, Doctor Who, Star Trek) take control of the TARDIS for their first five-issue arc with the Tenth Doctor, as played by David Tennant! Gabriella Gonzalez is stuck in a dead-end job in her family’s New York Laundromat, dreaming of college and bigger, better and brighter things. So when a strange man with an even stranger big blue box barges into her life on the eve of the Day of the Dead celebrations – talking about an infestation of psychic aliens – she seizes her chance for adventure with both hands.

Verdict
There are two different Doctor Who comic book series starting today; one for the Tenth Doctor, and one for the Eleventh. Being a fan of Doctor Who is kind of mandatory if you’re British, and each person has their favourite. I personally love the Tenth Doctor, portrayed by David Tennant, so if I have to pick one comic, I’m going for his. It’s been a while since I’ve seen Ten, so it will be lovely to get reacquainted. I’m also looking forward to seeing whether his new companion lives up to those who came before her.

Damsels in Excess
Publisher: Aspen Comics
Writer: Vince Hernandez
Artist: Mirka Andolfo

20140725-100925-36565575.jpg

Synopsis
Five realms. Five princesses. Zero men. In the land of the Five Realms, the existence of men has long since been evaporated from the hearts and minds of women. Princess Bethany–ruler of Evanfar, the largest and most prominent kingdom, finds herself at the center of a vast conspiracy that could not only threaten her kingdom—but also her life! Journey to a place where magic is abundant, unicorns and ferrets can command armies, and five women struggle to find balance—and power–in an ever-changing fairy tale world!

Verdict
They had me at Unicorn! I’m a big fan of the fantasy genre – this is what Disney does to you. I also love strong female characters, of which there never seem to be enough of in comic books. Well, Damsels in Excess sounds like they have heroines in abundance with their purely female cast. I expect these ladies are anything but damsels, and I love that idea.

Grimm Fairy Tales: Realm Wars
Publisher: Zenescope Entertainment
Writer: Joe Brusha
Artist: Sami Kivela

20140725-101026-36626065.jpg

Synopsis
Shattered by the events of GFT #100, the Grimm Universe is no more, and the Age of Darkness has begun. With the Realms of Power combined, the Dark Horde has finally realized its plan to rule Earth. But the darkness is just beginning and the Dark One and his Queen have unimaginable terrors planned for humanity. With their generals ruling cities throughout the new world and the Realm Knights dead or scattered, few are left to oppose them. But even as the darkness falls, heroes will rise and fight against their evil even if they must make the ultimate sacrifice doing so. Don’t miss the darkest Grimm Fairy Tales series ever.

Verdict
I’ve wanted to try out the Grimm comics for a long time now, but being on something ridiculous like issue 100, it seemed like I may have missed a bit too much storyline to just pick up an up to date issue. I’ve contemplated grabbing the graphic novels and back reading, but maybe the way forward is starting a brand new Grimm series, and Realm Wars would be perfect. With a new storyline I can follow from the very beginning. I’m hoping to find flashbacks to the original Grimm series so I can get up to speed on important issues without having to filter through myself.

Other new comics out this week:

Steed and Mrs. Peel: We’re Needed – Boom! Studios
Groo vs. Conan – Dark Horse Comics
The Goon: Occasion of Revenge – Dark Horse Comics
Star-Spangled War Stories: G.I. Zombie – DC Comics
Transformers vs. G.I. Joe – IDW
Ragnarok – IDW
Doctor Who: The Eleventh Doctor – Titan Comics
Armour Hunters: Bloodshot – Valiant Entertainment

Leave a Reply

