Comic Book Day (08.10.14)

IMG_1205-0.JPG

It’s been ages since I’ve started a new comic book series, but I’ve picked the perfect week to get back into comics – there are so many new issues out today, so many new issues I want to get my hands on.

Here’s a list of all the new comic series available, focusing on a few that I’m excited about, and the reasons why. It’s a great week for fans of the Horror genre. With Halloween on the horizon, Writers and Artists are pulling out their darkest material yet. Check out the list to see if anything takes your fancy

Chilling Adventures of Sabrina
Publisher: Archie comics
Writer: Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa
Artist: Robert hack

IMG_1201.JPG
Synopsis
Terror is born anew in this dark reimagining of Sabrina the Teenage Witch’s origin. On the eve of her sixteenth birthday, the young sorceress finds herself at a crossroads, having to choose between an unearthly destiny and her mortal boyfriend, Harvey. But a foe from her family’s past has arrived in Greendale, Madame Satan, and she has her own deadly agenda. Archie Comic’s latest horror sensation starts here! For TEEN+ readers.
Why I want to check it out
I don’t recall a single day of my youth that I didn’t watch an episode of Sabrina the Teenage Witch, so naturally, as soon as I heard about a Sabrina comic, I wanted to check it out. Having looked at the preview – this is not the Sabrina series I remember. It’s better! It’s dark and gritty and slightly sadistic. I can’t express how excited I am to see Sabrina in this new light.

13 Coins
Publisher: Titan Comics
Writer: Martin Brennan & Michael B. Jackson
Artist: Simon Bisley

IMG_1202-0.JPG
Synopsis
From Eisner award winning artist, Simon Bisley, and the screenwriters of Hitman: Absolution (Martin Brennan & Michael B Jackson), comes the story of a new superhero… The story of John Pozner, a tormented ex-con on a quest for vengeance, when he discovers that he is descended from angels, and is the living key to Earth’s future, or Heaven’s fall.
Why I want to check it out
I wasn’t quite sure what to think of Brennan and Jackson’s new comic series at first. Angels? Been there, done that. Unless it contains Sam and Dean Winchester, or Constantine, I’m not interested. But then I saw the artwork. Simon Bisley is one talented man, and everyone needs to check his work out – no wonder he’s won an Eisner Award. With blood and guts, wings and tattoos, this series is as detailed as it gets.

Avengers Vs. X-Men: Axis
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Writer: Rick Remender
Artist: Adam Kubert

IMG_1203.JPG
Synopsis
From the ashes of Avengers vs. X-Men, rises a new threat. the Red Skull – a monstrous force of evil, now possesses the extraordinary mutant gifts of the late Charles Xavier. Exploiting the powers of the world’s most powerful telepath, he has amassed an army and broadcasts his message of hate across the globe. Residing in the once proud Mutant nation of Genosha, he has enslaved thousands of mutants in his bid for world domination. “This is the big one,” says Marvel Editor-in-Chief Axel Alonso. “Super hero comics at their biggest and boldest. With the powers of Charles Xavier, the Red Skull is the biggest, baddest villain in the Marvel Universe. Rick’s story is massive and will touch all corners of the Marvel Universe in new and interesting ways.” All that stands in the Red Skull’s path is the fragile alliance of Avengers and X-Men. Even united, they may not be enough to stem the coming darkness. Earth’s last hope hinges on these fractured squads fighting as one. But as the Age if Inversion looms upon us – have they already lost?
Why I want to check it out
I think my comic reading career has been leading up to this series. As a huge fan of both the X-Men, and the Avengers, I picked up every Avengers Vs. X-Men comic available. Then, when that series finished, I worked my way through the Uncanny Avengers series as well. What comes next? Axis! A Red Skull / Charles Xavier hybrid must be tough if it’s going to take both teams to defeat him. I’m expecting a lot of familiar faces, and a lot of epicness.

Wytches
Publisher: Image Comics
Writer: Scott Snyder
Artist: Jock

IMG_1204-1.JPG
Synopsis
Across the globe, century after century, men and women were burned, drowned, hanged, tortured, imprisoned, persecuted, and murdered for witchcraft. None of them were witches. They died protecting a terrible and hidden truth: witches, real witches, are out there. They are ancient, elusive, and deadly creatures that are rarely seen and even more rarely survived.
Why I want to check it out
I saw the names Scott Snyder and Jock, and instantly knew I had to get in on this series. Even before reading the synopsis, I added this comic to my pull list. Jock and Snyder are two of my absolute favourites. Single handily responsible for creating some of my favourite Batman comics, they make the perfect team. If you haven’t read/seen their work, get on it.. Infact, buy Wytches!

Other new comics out this week

Fraggle Rock: Journey to the Everspring – Archaia
Jack Hammer: Usurpuer – Action Lab Comics
Archie and Friends: Ghost Stories – Archie Comics
Pirouette – Black Mask
Alien Vs. Predator: Fire and Stone – Dark Horse Comics
Earth 2: World’s End – DC Comics
Klarion – DC Comics
Evil Ernie – Dynamite Entertainment
Dead Squad – IDW
The October Faction – IDW
Birthright – Image Comics
Punks: The Comic – Image Comics
Hawkeye Vs. Deadpool – Marvel Comics
Thanos: A God up there Listening – Marvel Comics

Leave a Reply

