Five Must See Christmas Movies

With Christmas literally a week away, it’s definitely about time I got a little bit of Christmas spirit, and what better way than by watching all of my favourite Christmas movies. I usually save these for bingeing on Boxing Day, but because my joy for Christmas has been overshadowed by everyday life this year, it’s probably best I start watching them now so that I don’t wake up green and Grinch like on Christmas day. Here are my five must watch Xmas movies:

1. Die Hard

die-hard-original

This is a favourite in my family’s house. The Die Hard films are some of the only movies my mum can successfully sit still through, which means they’re the only movies we can all watch as a family. Seen as Christmas means we’ll definitely be together, Die Hard is top of the list, the first one especially, seen as its set around the Christmas holidays.

2. Batman Returns

batman-returns-movie-poster-1992-1020194388

Being a huge Batman fan, I watch every Batman movie ever made all year round, but at Christmas time, I like to whack out Batman Returns. It’s definitely one of my favourite Batman movies, and possibly one of my favourite movies in general – I mean, a combination of Christmas AND Batman.. What’s not to like.

3. The Muppet Christmas Carol

the-muppet-christmas-carol-poster

I don’t think you can experience Christmas properly without watching at least one rendition of Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol, and my personal favourite happens to star Jim Henson’s Muppets. The Muppet Christmas Carol is the epitome of Christmas in my opinion, and I don’t feel Christmassy without it.

4. Home Alone 2

MPW-53207

Another movie franchise that makes Christmas time awesome is Home Alone. 1 and 2 are both brilliant for seasonal viewing, however the second film is my favourite. It’s like a live action version of that Warner Bros. cartoon where the Road Runner and Wile E Coyote go head to head. Plus, there’s just something about New York at Winter time..

5. Gremlins

gremlins-poster

It’s not a particularly Christmassy film, but it’s always on TV in the Holidays, so I’ve seen it every Christmas Eve for the past 4 or 5 years ..and I’m ok with that. For some reason I just can’t picture myself watching it at any time other than when I’m lying on the floor, in between the Christmas tree and the fire, with my sister on the sofa behind me, and a big bowl of snacks.

Leave a Reply

