Five Characters I would name my kids after

I’m pretty sure most of us have a list of favourite names stored in the back of our heads, right? – A name you want to call your future child, your new pet, or even your World of Warcraft character.

 

I’m nowhere near wanting to have kids right now, but I must admit, I too have a little list of names locked away in my noggin – I kind of figure I need some spares, just in case I’m in need of a change of identity, or I decide to become a man.

 

Naturally, mine are all names borrowed from some of my favourite geeky characters. Here are a few of my favourites for boys and girls.

 

Boys

 

1. Emmett


Better known as Doctor Brown, from the Back to the Future trilogy. I love this name – it rolls off the tongue so nicely. Plus, it’s already so similar to my name – Emma.

 

2. Grayson


Dick Grayson was my favourite Robin in the Batman series. Dick is probably a little inappropriate a name in this day and age however.

 

3. Archimedes


This name is most associated with an incredibly famous Greek scientist/astronomer, but to me Archimedes is the Owl in The Sword in the Stone, and that’s why I love it.

Girls

 

1. Quinn


I love Harley Quinn, from the DC universe, but Harley sounds like such a masculine name to me. Quinn has a much nicer ring to it, even if I do associate it with Detective Quinn from Dexter – he’s a man.

 

2. Gwen


A name given to two favourite female characters of mine – Gwen Stacey from Marvels Spider-Man series, and Gwen (Guinevere) from the King Arthur/Merlin mythology.

 

3. Arwen


Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings trilogy is riddled with beautiful names, but Arwen is definitely one of my favourites. I like them short and sweet.

 

Bonus

 

4. Ripley


Special mention needs to go to the name Ripley. It’s my favourite unisex name.

Leave a Reply

