Daredevil Review

daredevil-marvel-logo-netflix

For those of you that don’t know, Daredevil is a superhero from the Marvel universe. Matt Murdock, the man behind the mask, is blinded by a radioactive spill in his youth. The rest of his senses are heightened beyond normal human ability, so he uses these to fight crime as a vigilante in Hell’s Kitchen.

When Marvel announced they were creating a new series based on Daredevil, I wasn’t all that inspired. To be honest, I’ve always classed him as a bit of a B list superhero, and I haven’t really read any comics about him, so my pre-conceptions had to come from the 2003 movie starring Ben Affleck, which we all know was far from amazing. Adding to this the fact that Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D , in my opinion, was on the dull side, I just didn’t really have high hopes for the show – Boy was I wrong.

Not only did I absolutely adore the series, but I’m now seeing Daredevil in a completely new light, and would go as far as to say that he may be one of the most fascinating characters in the Marvel universe. I’m already eagerly awaiting season 2 and can’t wait to check out Marvel’s other defenders in action.

The Good:

daredevil-1-netflix

Gore, Gore, Gore – Daredevil was undeniably the grittiest, darkest, most violent addition to Marvel’s cinematic universe. The blood and gore wasn’t constant; it was perfectly balanced, but at times I would literally have to hide behind a pillow to get away from the breaking bones, stab wombs and throttling.

Daredevil is a real boy – On screen Superheroes tend to get this god complex which makes them completely un-relatable. A lot of them are flesh and bones just like you and I, and Daredevil makes you believe that. His emotions were so real that I could genuinely feel his pain at times. He got tired when he was fighting, he cried when he was sad, and came close to failing so many times.

daredevil-kingpin-wilson-fisk-vincent-d-onofrio

Fisk was a secret softie – Wilson Fisk, the shows major villain, is a big, scary, murderous man, and there’s no denying that, but I loved that you got to see that he was once a kid like everyone else, and that his troubled childhood shaped the man he was to become. Yes, all villains have sob stories; abandoned at birth, fell in a vat of acid.. but I’ve never felt sorry for them. Fisk I did. At times I wanted to go give him a big hug.

The fight scenes – These bad boys turned up frequently throughout the show, and thank god, because they were so beautifully done that I was usually completely mesmerised, unable to take my eyes from the screen. There was one particular scene done in a single, fluid take, and it was damned impressive.

matt-foggy-and-karen-meet-daredevil

No soppy love triangles – The characters in this show had unbelievable chemistry, and I occasionally found myself routing for certain couples to form an emotional/sexual connection at times *cough* Karen and Foggy *cough* but I’m really glad it didn’t happen. Shows and movies can get clouded by the soppy stuff, to the point where that then becomes the focus – a big downer in an action series.

The perfect cast – I fell in love with almost every character and it was all down to the acting. Charlie Cox made a brilliant Matt Murdock. His Daredevil was genuinely scary at times, more like a vigilante than a superhero. Elden Henson (Foggy) was also on top form. He could switch from being the comic relief, to being a supportive, emotional friend, in an instant. Vincent D’Onofrio’s Fisk gave us a fresh take on the typical villain. He portrayed the character as an incredibly lonely, shy man, with this strange innocence that made me actually kind of like the guy. And Deborah Ann Woll as Karen was just adorable. I loved her.

The Bad:

daredevil-netflix

What a show off – The fight scene’s were impressively choreographed with flips and summersaults, and it looked amazing, but when they started adding these stunts to a rooftop chase scene, I felt they may have been going a little over the top. On more than one occasion, Daredevil would do a spectacular triple summersault, when a simple jump would have sufficed, and actually been more affective and time efficient.

It got a little predictable towards the end – The last few episodes were still brilliant, but I found myself guessing what was going to happen. Up until that point, everything had been a surprise, in fact there were a few scenes that completely shocked me; but towards the end, everything seemed obvious; the poisoner, the informer, the escape (You’ll know what I’m talking about when you watch it)

The Ugly:

That Costume – Daredevil spends most of his time in a costume made up of a black shirt, trousers and mask. It gives off a true vigilante vibe – a regular guy who is fed up with society and decides to do something about it, but doesn’t want to be recognised. When he gets his armour – you know, the classic red outfit with Devil horns, he starts looking more like a Superhero, and it takes away from what has been an incredibly realistic show. It just looks too cheesy.

So Daredevil wasn’t perfect, but it was pretty damn close. The minor issues I had with the series were nothing compared to all the things I loved about the show. Things I want from season 2? Relationships to develop, a lot more villains, hopefully some more heroes as well.

4 thoughts on “Daredevil Review

Leave a Reply

