Five Times I Totally Fangirled Out Of Control

  

This week’s Fandom Friday is all about your favourite theme park rides. As much as I love amusement parks, I haven’t been to one in a very long time so I honestly can’t remember what I like. Instead, I’m going to list the 5 times I totally fangirled; a topic I missed a couple of weeks ago. I’m generally pretty excitable, so I fangirl a lot.. but these are probably the times that I fangirled the loudest.


Meeting Bryan Lee O’Malley

  

I am well and truly Scott Pilgrim obsessed. I love all of the books, I love the movie, I love to cosplay as Ramona Flowers, I’m even customising my guitar with Scott Pilgrim characters. Bryan Lee O’Malley is, in my opinion, AMAZING, and I got to meet him. I GOT TO MEET HIM. He was doing a book signing for his most recent graphic novel: Seconds. When it got to my turn, I freaked out and went all wobbly, because he’s not just talented, he’s also beautiful. He hugged me, and took a photo with me, and signed my book. Then he complimented my Ramona bag, and signed that too.. with a love heart. A LOVE HEART!!

Jay and Silent Bob’s Secret Stash

  

I’m a huge Kevin Smith fan, so naturally I watch Comic Book Men, and I love it. It’s about a bunch of guys who work in a comic book store called Jay and Silent Bob’s Secret Stash. The guys in it are awesome, and adorable, and super geeky. When I went to New York last year, I decided that I was going to take a day out to go visit the real life store in New Jersey. It was a bit of a trek, but so worth it, because the shop looked exactly the same as in the show, and I actually got served by one of the stars – Mike Zapcic. I couldn’t believe he was actually in there.. working. For some reason I had it in my head that it was all for camera, but there he was, taking my money and giving me comics.

Hobbiton

  

No holiday to New Zealand is complete without a trip to Hobbiton – not for a Lord of the Rings fan anyway. New Zealand as a whole is pretty magical, but Hobbiton was something else, it was exactly how I imagined it from the books, and exactly what it looked like in the films. Everything was so tiny – the mailboxes, the wheelbarrows, the signs. It honestly looked like the Hobbits were tucked up in their homes hiding from the tourists. When I strolled up to Bagend itself, I felt like I was heading to brunch with Bilbo. It was awesome.

The Wizarding World of Harry Potter

  

I was gutted when I found out that Harry Potter World at Universal Studios wasn’t going to officially open until I’d left Florida. I’d timed my holiday to Orlando terribly, or thought I had. Turns out there’s a thing called a soft opening, where they open the park up for the general public before it has officially opened. Being in the right place at the right time meant that I was one of the first people to set foot in the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. I honestly lost my sh*t. It was THE BEST feeling in the world, after thinking that I was going to miss the park by two weeks. I literally spent all the money I had left in there.. worth it.

Getting a retweet from Telltale Games

  

I am a twitter novice. I haven’t been tweeting for long, and I get pretty confused about the hashtag system, so when I write random crap, it’s usually just seen by me and my what.. 10 friends. Anyway, a while ago I was ridiculously in love with the episode game The Wolf Among Us. I was thinking about cosplaying as one of the main characters; Snow to a Convention in London, so created an Everyday Cosplay outfit for her. I tweeted it on my account, then a couple of hours later I get a notification that Telltale Games, the people who made Wolf Among Us, had retweeted my post. WHAATT!! This huge company not only saw my creation, but liked it enough to retweet it – and in turn, got my blog like 2000 views in one day (which is a lot for me)

Leave a Reply

