Five Games I’m Loving Right Now

This weeks Fandom Friday is all about video games, so I am right in my element. As an avid gamer, I usually end up starting a new game every week. Yes, I could probably do something much more efficient with my time, but there’s nothing quite like losing yourself in a beautiful virtual world. I have played hundreds of games in my lifetime, and have tonnes of favourites so it would be impossible to pick the five I like the most. Instead, this list contains my five favourites, that I am currently playing or have just finished.

Elder Scrolls Online

Elder Scrolls Online is an MMORPG created by Bethesda. It’s similar to World of Warcraft, in that it’s a subscription based online game, but I personally prefer it, and think ESO is much more beautiful. The graphics are unbelievably life like, and the scenery is so imaginative that I have wanted to jump right into the PC on numerous occasions. I’m generalky not a PC gamer, preferring consoles like the Xbox One, but I made an exception for Elder Scrolls. Luckily it will be released on Xbox later this year so I can continue playing on a platform I’m more comfortable with.

The Wolf Among Us

The Wolf Among Us is an episode based game created by Telltale games. When I say episode based, I mean that it has been split into 5 chapters that get released in intervals. It’s modelled on Bill Willingham’s graphic novel series, Fables, about fairy tale characters living in a modern world, and is an interactive game, so you are tasked with moral dilemmas, where you have to make your own mind up about which route to take. The best thing about this game is that the outcomes are different depending on which route you chose, so if you play simultaneously with a friend, chances are, different things will happen in your game than theirs.

Lego Batman

I really like Lego, and I really like Batman, so playing Lego Batman was a no brainer for me. It’s not a very complex game – it is aimed at children after all, but it’s heaps of fun. You work through little chapters where you can play as every single character you can imagine, and each has their own special ability, whether that’s becoming invisible, or being incredibly strong. My favourite thing about the game however, is that you can let of steam. Almost the whole game is destructible, because it’s made of Lego, DERR!

Minecraft

Minecraft is a game where you can let your imagination run wild. It’s like a slightly simpler version of the Sims, in that you can create any building you want, only in Minecraft, there are no limits. If you want a shack, build a shack, if you want a castle, build that castle, and if you want to build Gondor from LOTR, then expect to lose a year of your life. It’s not just building though. I’ve found I have a great fondness for mining, and Sam has a thing for building strange contraptions that take him almost a day to complete then end up simply locking a door *rolls eyes*ย 

Pokemon X and Y

My Nintendo DS is one of my prized possessions. Why? Because without it I wouldn’t be able to play Pokemon. Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire are the latest Pokemon games to have been released, but I’m still addicted to X and Y. If you don’t know how Pokemon works then, well, you must of had a very sad childhood. Ok, you probably didn’t, you probably had an awesome childhood exploring outdoors, but you didn’t get to play with Pikachu, so Nerr *Pokes tongue out*ย 

2 thoughts on “Five Games I’m Loving Right Now

  1. Cool to read gaming is an important part of your life. That really shouldn’t be something we feel the need to excuse ourselves for these days.

    I love the Pokรฉmon games, too, although I originally played them on the gameboy. Such good memories!

Leave a Reply

